The Advisory Network

Our Advisory Network is a signal for the mindset that reigns in our lab. This mindset is first of all marked by a care for ethics in technology – in the sense of putting the human back in the center - privacy and sustainability over and above shortsighted profit and business models. We perceive all of our advisory network members as independent thinkers in their own right and independent of the organizations they work for; an attitude that is important to the lab’s mission.

Our group of advisors consists of academics, policy makers, NGOs and individuals from the civic society who have a long track-record in the privacy and sustainable computing- and policy field, but also invites selected representatives of companies that commit to the ethical standards and to a code of conduct compatible with our vision. Indeed it is our goal to create the advisory network as a hub where these stakeholders can actively discuss and challenge practical perspectives on privacy and sustainable computing. Our aim is to contribute constructively to a human-focused system design and system marketing. We aim to help companies through our informed, long-term and holistic perspective on computing, innovation management and leadership.

Our Advisors

Jan Albrecht, EU-Parliament

Aral Balkan, Ethical Software Developer

Piero Bonatti, Universita' di Napoli Federico II, Italy

Ian Brown, Oxford Internet Institute

Stefan Decker, RWTH Aachen University

Charles Ess, Professor for Media and Communication, University of Oslo, Norway

Anna Fielder, Trustee and Board Chair of Privacy International based in London, UK

Simone Fischer-Hübner, Professor for Computer Science, University of Karlstad, Sweden

Thomas Groß, Director of the Centre for Cybercrime and Computer Security, Newcastle University, UK

Peter Hampson, Emeritus Professor of Psychology at UWE, Bristol, UK

Marit Hansen, Director of the Data Protection Authority in Schleswig Holstein, Germany

John Havens, Executive Director of the Global Initiative for Ethical Considerations in the Design of Autonomous Systems, IEEE

Johannes Hoff, Professor of Systematic and Philosophical Theology at Heythrop College in the University of London, UK

Yvonne Hofstetter, Managing Director, Product Manager at Teramark Technologies GmbH, Munich Area, Germany

Konstantinos Karachalios, Managing Director, IEEE Standards Association

Paul Nemitz, Director - Fundamental Rights and Citizenship DG Justice, European Commission, Brussels, Belgium

Carolyn Nguyen, Director in Microsoft’s Telecommunications and Internet Governance Group

Kai Rannenberg, Professor for Mobile Business and Multilateral Security, Frankfurt a.M. ,Germany

Edgar Whitley, Associate Professor of Information Systems, Department of Management, London School of Economics and Political Science , UK

Benedict Whittam Smith, Thomsonreuters, UK